- Elana's Pantry - http://elanaspantry.com -

FDA: Spelt is Wheat

Posted By Elana Amsterdam On May 21, 2007 @ 1:31 pm In lifestyle,nutrition | 3 Comments

It seems like just about every week someone offers me bread or crackers and says, “don’t worry it’s spelt.”

These well meaning friends of mine know that I’m gluten intolerant and don’t eat wheat, yet have been lead to believe that spelt is ok for people with celiac disease and gluten allergies.

Each time this occurs, I explain to my friends that spelt contains gluten and that this grain is a very close cousin of wheat.

In fact, the two grains share such a similar genetic structure that the FDA recently declared that all spelt products must now be labeled as “wheat.” Hopefully, this will clear up some of the confusion for people that are newly diagnosed celiacs on information overload.

The new labeling regulation results from the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA), passed in 2004, enacted into law last year (2006).

Article printed from Elana's Pantry: http://elanaspantry.com

URL to article: http://elanaspantry.com/fda-spelt-is-wheat/

all content on elanaspantry.com is licensed and the original creation and property of elana's pantry (unless otherwise noted).